MY STORY

Fashion for me was love at first sight.

This is sort of a reiteration of what my bio already mentions, except this one is the long version of the story. I was born into a family of Dominican and Spanish descent in the Dominican Republic. I am the eldest of two, I have an amazing brother. My family and I moved to Connecticut when I was young. During my childhood, I dabbed in a variety of art forms, such as painting and drawing but my love has always been fashion.

But let’s take it back many years ago to the beautiful, paradise, Caribbean island where I spent the first years of my life. Latin culture is so rich. Women love to embrace their femininity. Latin women come in all shapes and forms and are born with an amazing self-confidence to love their bodies no matter what. Most of all, they love to dress up. Needless to say, I grew up inspired and around women who not only loved to dress up, but also designed, created and styled their own wardrobes -they liked to be in control! Fashion for them was also a form of expression. Since then, I passionately sought to learn everything related to fashion as an art form and as a business.

As a young girl, I would dream about the Paris design houses and knew in-depth details about the most significant fashion designers of all time…you can test me. I remember devouring books about Cristobal Balenciaga, Oscar de la Renta, Christian Dior, Gres, Vionnet and of course Mademoiselle Coco Chanel. I loved American designers too, Charles James, Calvin Klein, Ralph Lauren, Donna Karan and the list is almost endless.

Moving forward, after high school, life took its course and I went to college, I decided to obtain a degree in Business and pursued a career in Business and Marketing…always have to have a plan B. During this time I still kept in touch with what I loved by designing for personal acquaintances/clients to build a personal portfolio. Upon graduating from college, I packed my bags and moved to Miami; I love New York deeply, but in Miami, I just felt at home.  Being there was a highly inspiring experience for me, I always loved Art Deco, the beach and Latin food, what more can a girl ask for. In Miami, I attended private couture classes while still working for personal clients and in addition to my day job. I met amazing people, some of which became long-time friends.  After many years, I became home sick and missed my family. So, I moved back to the Northeast, settled in New York where I was accepted to the Fashion Institute of Technology and have continued to expand my fashion knowledge ever since.

PHOTO BY MELANIE DIR

And so, now that you know about me, you know what this blog will be about.  “Start a Blog” has always been part of my never ending To Do list.  I have contemplated the idea for a while now, but always put it on the back burner because I don’t consider myself a writer and the truth is, there are millions of fashion blogs out there; but finally, I decided to give it a try. Join me on this journey!

Fashion is what I live and breathe. This blog will be dedicated to all the fashionistas out there….we all have one in each of us. I am currently super busy working on an exciting project that I can’t wait to share with you all. In the meantime, I will blog from here as often as possible and share with you my obsession with fashion. Until next time…

Fashionably yours,

CHABELLA

5 thoughts on “MY STORY

  1. i’ve already added you to my google reader and to my blogroll…congrats on your new venture. i am excited to see what you are going to post.

  2. Awesome!! Wish you the best of luck and looking forward to learn more about that project ;-)

    Love you always,
    Evie <3

  3. I love your new blog! Can’t wait to see what this project is!!! Best of luck hun, you’ve work hard to get to where you are and have tons to look forward to – – wishing you the best of luck . . . xoxo

  4. FABULOSITY! SO HAPPY TO HEAR THAT YOU ARE MAKING YOUR DREAMS HAPPEN! I WILL ALWAYS SUPPORT MY DOMINICAN SISTERS.. DO IT UP AND I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE YOUR LINE AT STORES NEAR YOU…

    ALL THE BEST..

Leave a Reply

