HONORING COUTURE

It’s Paris Haute Couture fashion week, and I wanted to dedicate a post to pay homage and celebrate the amazing art that is Couture.

Couture is what made me fall in love with fashion in the first place. I became highly inspired by all the art and fantasy created by the Parisian couturiers. I feel like, currently, the term Couture is used so loosely. Haute Couture, is more than just high fashion; Couture garments are made with extreme attention to detail and painstaking craftsmanship.

Many years back, every single sketch I created emulated a story of couture fantasy and one day I embarked on a mission to create a couture dress myself. Back then, I sought inspiration mainly from Spanish Flamenco, their opulent ruffles and romantic silhouettes, tulle, organza, silk and so, I sat for exactly 70 hours embroidering each pellet and sequin onto 6 yards of scarlet red silk finally bringing my voluminous vision to life. I created two dresses total, the other just as dramatic and complete with a 2 feet train and long godets of silk. It was an inspiring experience after all.

My style has evolved so much since then. Now, I am inspired by so many different things and every day life. I feel like my style is chic but more functional while at the same time creative. I still love and appreciate Couture and everything I learned from it and every now and then I try to add Couture-inspired details to my designs because fashion is no fun without  a dash of fantasy.

One thought on “HONORING COUTURE

Leave a Reply

