PHOTO DIARY: INSPIRATION – POMPEII

Anytime I travel anywhere I am always looking for inspiration. I ask myself “How I can take this experience and include into my work as a designer?” it’s the best way to draw inspiration.

I was looking through my travel photos from my trip to Italy last year, and I remembered the amazing experience I had of visiting one of the most magical places I’ve ever been to, Pompeii.

_DSC2657 - CopyI never bothered to share the photos, but I figured I’d share them on the blog because it was such an inspirational place for me and its history really touched me on a personal level. One, because its beauty is still visible after so long and after having been through the worst adversity and two, because I’m an art history geek, so for me it was truly special.

Pompeii is one of the oldest cities in the world, dating back to the 8th century BC. Its ruins are in a place where a beautiful city once stood before being destroyed and buried by an eruption of the Mount Vesuvius volcano in the year 79 AD. The city was rediscovered/restored in 1749 and since then has been one of the most visited destinations in the South of Italy. Walking its streets, which are well over 2,000 years old and imagining the life that used to exist there was incredible. So, here is Pompeii through the lens of my camera. I hope you enjoy it and it touches you as much as it touched me.

 

_DSC2642_DSC2685 - Copy_DSC2644 - Copy_DSC2638_DSC2692_DSC2650_DSC2651_DSC2659_DSC2696_DSC2697_DSC2699_DSC2701_DSC2703_DSC2707_DSC2709_DSC2711_DSC2717IMG_1657

Leave a Reply

